Mozart on…competition

Italian Version | English Version

1° International “Mozart on…Competition”

The jury of the 1st International “Mozart on … Competition”, unanimously claim as winner the piece “Si lo siento” by Mauro Godoy Villalobos (Sweden) for the innovative idea to use the Tango applied to Mozart’s music, giving a new light and a whole new nuance and for being able to treat the music in a personal way even if constantly respecting the original music.

The jury would like to thank all participants in this year’s competition:

  • Pierre Schwob, France
  • Ralf Bauer, Germany
  • Richard Vaughan, Great Britain
  • Gianfranco Messina, Italy
  • Felipe Olvera, Mexico
  • Pascal de Blanco, Spain
  • John Richmond, USA

1° International “Mozart on…Competition”

Japan, China, South America, North America (Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center)

2015-02-12 09.03.38 (1)

Mozart represents for many composers a point of reference, a point of arrival or departure for ideas, inspiration, new compositions. Musical ideas left to posterity that sometimes,  have seen their revision or (re)actualization by musicians and fans.

“Mozart on competition …”, the first competition sponsored by Mozart Osaka, artistically and spiritually linked to the Associazione Mozart Italia-Rovereto, proposes a new competition that allows the composer to work freely on “Mozartian” material, done in the style of contemporary music, so far from the eighteenth-century Mozart style. This time the Guitar, to which Mozart himself was almost a “stranger”, projecting his music to a new world.

For the first edition we chosed five of the most famous moments from the opera Die Zauberflöte. The best work will be performed as a prize in a series of concerts of Maestro Diego Campagna, member of the jury, which will play the work at some of the most prestigious concert halls in the world, including the famous Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center and other international concert locations and halls such as China, Japan and South America for a total of five performances of the score.

The winning composition will also be promoted in the network of 120 branches related to Mozart Mozarteum in Salzburg, the 38 Ami Mozart Association in Italy, the radio and will be published and distributed by Da Vinci Editions, Osaka.

Art. 1 The Osaka Mozart Association (organizer), with the Italian Institute of Culture in Osaka, announces the “1st International Composition Competition, Mozart on competition: Guitar”, dedicated to compositions for solo guitar. Not allowed: amplification, tape or live electronics.

Art. 2 Each composition must be inspired by one of the below proposed pieces from the opera Die Zauberflöte by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and selected from:

The original score reference is preferably the Neue Mozart Ausgabe published by Bärenreiter Verlag and available on-line:

http: // VSEP = 73 & gen = edition & l = 1 & amp;

Art. 3 Scores have to be freely reworked by composers without a style limit. Merely guitar transcriptions are not allowed.

Art. 4 The competition is international and selected works by composers of all nationalities are admitted.

Art. 5 The compositions must have a maximum duration of five minutes.

Art. 6 The scores must be unpublished and sent in single copy by e-mail, in digital format, using the following email address:, no later than July 1, 2016 together with the required documents mentioned Art.11. The results will be published no later than July 5, 2016.

Art. 7 If compositions contain graphic characters or unusual symbols, the authors shall supply precise English explaining for a correct interpretation of the signs.

Art. 8 The jury is composed by Diego Campagna (guitar), Edmondo Filippini (AMI President Osaka), Stefano Fossati (Director IIC-Osaka). The winning composition will be chose based on the sum of the scores obtained in the voting by each judge.

Art. 9 The first and only prize is the execution of the winning score by Maestro Diego Campagna in exclusive 2016 tours around the world for a total of at least 5 executions, including the execution at Carnegie Hall and Lincoln Center in New York in December.

  • 8-16 July: Japan Tour
  • 24 July-8 August: China Tour, including China Shenyang International Guitar Festival
  • 8-22 September: South America Tour (Bolivia, Cochabamba, Paraguay, Chile, Argentina)
  • 16 December – 2 January: North America Tour: Christmas concert at Carnegie Hall in New York and Lincoln Center.

Promotion on the 120 music branch linked to the Salzburg Mozarteum.

The presentation of the work and the composer at

The publication and distribution for Da Vinci Editions, Osaka.

Art. 10 The fee for the competition is Euro 110, this amount in any case  will not be refunded.

The payment must be made by bank transfer using the following coordinates:

For Europe:
Osaka Mozart Association-Edmondo Filippini
Unicredit Banca | Iban: IT74J 02008 32974 001135603328 | Swift: UNCRITMM

For Asia and America coordinates will be available from 5th April 2016.

Bank transfer fee will be payed by the composer. The object of the bank tranfer must be clearly marked as follows: Mozart on guitar 2016

Art. 11 To participate to the competition every composer must:

a) Fill all parts in the registration form ar the link:

b) Send a copy of the registration fee receipt (from 15 March 2016)

c) A midi song track, only if possible (not a condition)

Art. 12 The jury’s decisions are incontestable. Every composer participating in the competition agrees to accept all the rules without right of objection.

Art. 13 The composer must accept the application form in every part, the acceptance of the above terms and conditions, as well as the truly of the submitted documents; the penalty could be the exclusion from the competition.

Art. 14 Composers, by participating in the competition, accept the rules and accept the final decisions of the jury. In case of doubt about the translation into foreign language text shall prevail in the Italian language.